QSC's NEW Powerlight 3 Series . . .

Moderators: Cameron Shoffner, Christian Cook, Kirk Fyvie, Martin Barbour, Gary Evans_QSC, QSC-Dale Sandberg

Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:23 pm

• Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the sound system game, but i have a basic idea of whats what.

Here i have a couple questions regarding the above mentioned amps with the drivers i plan on using to start my own sound system.

PL 325 - 8-ohm - 500w // 4-ohm - 850w // 2-ohm - 1250w
    PL 340 - 8-ohm - 800w // 4-ohm - 1250w // 2-ohm - 2000w
    PL 380 - 8-ohm - 1500w // 4-ohm - 2500w // 2-ohm - 40000w

I'm planning on getting some locally built line array cabinets [built to specs] and the drivers I'm thinking about using for the LF and MF
    are the RCF L10 750YK rated at [350 W AES Power Handling Capacity, 700 W AES Program Power, 70 Hz - 3000 Hz].

I'm thinking about starting off with four cabinets, so that i can run them two left and two right @ 4 ohms, but my main question is really this :
    If i decide to run them as one stack of four, will the PL340 @ 2 ohms handle them efficiently, seeing that the Power Handling would fall somewhere around 1400 W, 600 W short of the 2000 W 2ohm rated amp supply.

The same would apply for the Subs, two [2] dual 18's with the PL380 at 2ohms using around 3200W per channel, haven't decided on the drivers as yet though...but it should be around that wattage.

I'm just trying to get the most out of the amps without creating chaos.......

Thanks in advance.
    mjlive868@icloud.com

• Are the RCF drivers you mentioned 8 ohms (that's as essential as the power rating)?
    Bob Lee
    Technical Communications Developer
    QSC, LLC
    Fellow, Audio Engineering Society
    "If it sounds good, it is good." —Duke Ellington
    Bob Lee
    QSC Audio Products

• Bob Lee wrote:Are the RCF drivers you mentioned 8 ohms (that's as essential as the power rating)?