Newbie cm16a help

Here you can ask about Venue Manager and QSControl application development.

Moderators: Cameron Shoffner, Christian Cook, Kirk Fyvie, Martin Barbour, Fred Thomke, Gary Evans_QSC, Chris Brouelette

Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:51 am

• Hellow folks and thanks for any help you can give.
    I am new to the QSCnet product. Just started working in a church facility that has cm16a and all qsc amps that areable(but not all are) integrated into them. I have read as much information as possible in the last couple of weeks from the web site. So far before I jump into doing anything with the system I have a couple of very basic questions that I likely just havent read far enough to get the answers.
    1) is the latest version of venue manager and design completely compatable with the cm16a. I just read a post that i got the impression that the design part was not although I may have misunderstood.
    2) can the relay out be used to trigger a low voltage inturn to swithch on off the preamp product in the system as the amps goe into standby. If so can the relay be programmed for delay to slow the "off" for the preamp or is there a problem with this.
    3)Is it a good Idea to use this in this manner with the computer to not only monitor but also turn on and of the system in the house of worship setting.

Again I am sorry if these are basic Questions that are answered somewhere???? I am really intrigued by this system as this is one of the first that I have had the ability to work on. I hope to learn more and get this system back to the state of finess that it could be.
    Thanks for any help
    JefF Flowers
    Volcano Audio Products
    Shepherdsville Ky
    jeffflowers
    Rookie

Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:20 am

• Hi Jeff,

First question I have for you is if there is a resident computer on site at the church that was/is/going being used for the CM16a units?

The computer/software/network might be already set up which would allow you to skip the initial setup stuff.